Standards Association Releases Award Recipients for Development Contributions

IEEE, the world´s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, has announced the recipients of the 2019 IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) awards, recognizing outstanding participation in standards development, the company said.

The awards will be formally presented at the annual awards ceremony on Friday, 8 November 2019, at The Hyatt Regency, New Brunswick, NJ, USA.

IEEE standards drive technological innovation, fuel growth of global markets, expand consumer choice, support interoperability and help protect the health and public safety of workers and the general public. IEEE SA provides an open, consensus-driven platform that empowers innovators around the world to collaborate both in and around the standards process.

The following are the 2019 IEEE SA categories and recipients.

IEEE SA Conformity Assessment Award for major contributions to the development and promotion of IEEE standards products through conformity assessment activities: Duke Energy

IEEE SA Distinguished Service Award for outstanding and dedicated service to the IEEE SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process: John Kulick, IEEE Life Senior Member

IEEE SA Emerging Technology Award for advancing, initiating, or progressing a new technology within the IEEE SA open consensus process: IEEE 1876 Working Group for Networked Smart Learning Objects for Online Laboratories

IEEE SA International Award for extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE SA as a world-class provider of standardization:

W. Charlton (Chuck) Adams Jr., IEEE Life Senior Member
Teresa Doran, IEEE Member
Cheryl Jones, IEEE Member
Vikass Monebhurrun, IEEE Senior Member

IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award for significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest: Garry Roedler, IEEE Member

IEEE SA Standards Committee Award for outstanding response to industry in standards development: IEEE Consumer Electronics Society Standards Committee

IEEE SA Standards Medallion recipients for major contributions to the development of standards:

Doug Edwards, IEEE Member
Kirsten Matheus, IEEE Member
Pratap Mysore, IEEE Senior Member
Jeff Rearick, IEEE Member
Duane Remein, IEEE Member
Craig Schlenoff, IEEE SA Member
James Edward Smith, IEEE Member

IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award for contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering: Innocent Kamwa, IEEE Fellow

The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award for outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the IEEE Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC): Ernst Christen, IEEE Life Member

The IEEE Standards Association, a globally recognized standards-setting body within IEEE, develops consensus standards through an open process that engages industry and brings together a broad stakeholder community. IEEE standards set specifications and best practices based on current scientific and technological knowledge. The IEEE SA has a portfolio of over 1,100 active standards and more than 800 standards under development. For more information visit

IEEE is the world´s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Learn more at