SIMCom Wireless picks Sequans for Suite of LTE for IoT Modules

Sequans Communications S.A. (NYSE: SQNS) LTE chip technology has been adopted by SIMCom Wireless for a suite of M2M and IoT modules, Sequans said.

SIMCom will use Sequans´ LTE Cat 1 Platform, Calliope, and its newest LTE Cat M1/NB1 platform, Monarch, for a suite of module solutions. The first module to be introduced by SIMCom under the agreement is an LTE Cat 1 module, SIM7700V, based on Sequans´ Calliope LTE Cat 1 platform. It supports Verizon´s LTE bands 4 and 13 and supports VoLTE.

Sequans´ Calliope LTE Cat 1 platform, compliant with Release 10/11 of the LTE standard, is for higher throughput IoT applications such as connected car and retail applications or applications requiring VoLTE capability. Calliope is certified by Verizon Wireless, AT&T, NTT DoCoMo, and T-Mobile US. Sequans´ Monarch LTE Cat M1/NB1 platform, compliant with Release 13 of the LTE standard, is for new narrowband applications such as wearables, asset trackers, and industrial sensors.

The SIM7700V LTE Cat 1 module supports LTE bands 4 and 13, is approximately 21 x 20 x 1.5mm in size, and is provided in a surface-mount LGA footprint.

SIMCom Wireless Solutions provides Machine-to-Machine (M2M) wireless modules and solutions. Since becoming established in 2002, SIMCom Wireless Solutions has been providing a variety of wireless technology platform modules and terminal level solutions around the world based on GSM/GPRS/EDGE, WCDMA/HSPA/HSPA+, CDMA 1xRTT/EV-DO, FDD/TDD-LTE cellular communication and GPS/GLONASS/BEIDOU satellite positioning technology.

Sequans Communications provides single-mode 4G LTE semiconductor solutions for the Internet of Things (IoT) and a wide range of broadband data devices. Founded in 2003, it has developed and delivered seven generations of 4G technology and its chips are certified and shipping in 4G networks around the world. The company is based in Paris, France with additional offices in the United States, United Kingdom, Israel, Hong Kong, Singapore, Sweden, Taiwan, South Korea, and China.