Sikorsky delivers S-92 helicopter to Era Group

Sikorsky, a Lockheed Martin company (NYSE: LMT), has delivered the 300th S-92® helicopter, the company said.

Era Group Inc. signed for the aircraft, configured for offshore oil worker transportation, in a ceremony at the 2018 Helicopter Association International Heli-Expo.

This aircraft, assembled in Coatesville, Pennsylvania, will join Era Group´s fleet of eight Sikorsky helicopters and enter service in March in the Gulf of Mexico.
In 2016, Sikorsky recognized Era Group for being the first operator to enter revenue service with a Gross Weight Expanded (GWE) S-92 helicopter.

The GWE increases the maximum take-off weight of the S-92 helicopter from 26,500 to 27,700 pounds, increasing the available payload by 1,200 pounds that can be used for passengers or fuel. The addition of this aircraft marks Era´s fourth GWE S-92 helicopter.

The S-92 helicopter has become the industry´s standard. It leads the way in compliance with the latest US Federal Aviation Administration and European airworthiness safety standards by meeting or exceeding oil and gas industry requirements. With more than 1.25 million fleet flight hours of service, the S-92 helicopter sets the standard for safety. These aircraft perform a variety of missions including offshore oil transportation, search and rescue, Head of State and airline missions.

Headquartered in Bethesda, Maryland, Lockheed Martin is a global security and aerospace company that employs approximately 100,000 people worldwide and is principally engaged in the research, design, development, manufacture, integration and sustainment of advanced technology systems, products and services.

With 70 years of experience, Era is one of the largest helicopter operators in the world and the longest serving helicopter transport provider in the US In addition to servicing its US customers, Era also provides helicopters and related services to third-party helicopter operators and customers in other countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, India and Suriname.