Pratt & Whitney names 'Distinguished Engineers of the Year'

Pratt & Whitney and the Hartford section of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) honored five Distinguished Engineers of the Year, the company said.

The ASME Hartford section makes these awards annually to recognize and promote excellence in the field of engineering. Pratt & Whitney is a division of United Technologies Corp. (NYSE: UTX).

Pratt & Whitney´s Engineers of the Year for 2018 are Mark Von Nieda, chief engineer for the F100/TF33/J52; Rick Carlton, chief engineer for Military Development Programs; Ron Prihar, Structures discipline chief, GSE; Esther Boyes, model chief engineer for the PW1900G and PW1700G; and Dan Gysling, aeromechanics fellow.

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers is a not-for-profit organization that represents 130,000 engineers in more than 150 countries, including college students and young engineers, to senior researchers and executives.

Pratt & Whitney is a world provider of the design, manufacture and service of aircraft engines and auxiliary power units. United Technologies Corp., based in Farmington, Connecticut, provides high-technology systems and services to the building and aerospace industries. To learn more about UTC, visit its website at, or follow the company on Twitter: @UTC.