NASA Television to air next International Space Station crew launch

NASA has reported it plans to broadcast live coverage of launch of the next three crew members bound for the International Space Station, which is set for Wednesday, July 6, the administration said.

NASA astronaut Kate Rubins, cosmonaut Anatoly Ivanishin of the Russian space agency Roscosmos, and astronaut Takuya Onishi of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency will launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. All three will spend approximately four months on the orbital complex, returning to Earth in October.

The trio will travel in an upgraded Soyuz spacecraft, testing modified systems for two days and 34 Earth orbits before docking to the space station´s Rassvet module on July 9.

Together, the Expedition 48 crew members will continue the several hundred experiments in biology, biotechnology, physical science and Earth science currently under way and scheduled to take place aboard humanity´s only orbiting laboratory.