Alaska, Hawaii, Nebraska, Puerto Rico and Tennessee are the Latest to Announce Decisions to Opt-In to FirstNet network

Twenty states and territories have announced their decision to opt-in to the FirstNet network — America´s only communications platform purpose-built for public safety, the company said.

Those states are: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Puerto Rico, Tennessee, US Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Both AT&T and FirstNet have committed significant resources to improve communications among first responders and members of the public safety community. With an opt-in decision, FirstNet, together with AT&T, bears the financial risk associated with the network build in such state or territory and will require no additional financial resources from the state or territory to deploy or operate the network.

The FirstNet network is the only wireless, broadband network specially designed through consultation and feedback from public safety to ensure it meets their current and future technology needs. In mid-September, FirstNet plans to issue updated State Plans to states and territories refined by additional stakeholder feedback.

The First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet) is an independent authority within the US Department of Commerce. Chartered in 2012, its mission is to ensure the building, deployment, and operation of the nationwide, broadband network that equips first responders to save lives and protect US communities.